Here you will find information on Town and Parish Councils in South Hams and the responsibilities of the clerk of each council.

The South Hams contains fifty nine town and parish councils and two parish meetings (Harford and Woodleigh). The parish meetings have no parish councillors but there is an annual parish meeting for parishioners to raise issues.

Each of them employs a clerk to:

  • carry out policy decisions made by the council;
  • be the chief administration officer who is responsible for seeing that the business of the council runs smoothly and in accordance with the law and procedure rules;
  • be responsible for managing the financial transactions of the council and keeping appropriate records;
  • carry out all clerical and secretarial tasks for their council.

The fifty nine town and parish councils are broken down into fifty four parish councils and five town councils (DartmouthIvybridgeKingsbridgeSalcombe and Totnes) plus two parish meetings (Harford and Woodleigh ) .

To find your relevant Parish Clerk for your local town and parish council, please select from the list.

Contact details for Bigbury Parish Clerk
Contact details for Holne Parish Clerk
Contact details for Modbury Parish Clerk
Contact details for Rattery Parish Clerk