A fond goodbye to the outgoing Chairman and a warm welcome to the incoming.

At this year's Annual Council meeting, South Hams has said a huge thank you to out-going Chairman Cllr Kathy Cuthbert and hello to the incoming Chairman Cllr Tom Holway.

Over the last 12 months Cllr Cuthbert, who is a Ward Councillor for Ivybridge East, has been representing the Council at many events and meetings across South Hams.  During this time, she has raised over £3752.02 for her chosen charity, Epilepsy Action.

During the Annual Council meeting  Cllr Cuthbert said: "It's been an honour and a privilege to represent the Council at so many wonderful events. It's been a fantastic year, and I'd like to thank all the Councillors and Officers who have supported me, and the many sponsors who have donated to my chosen charity, Epilepsy Action."

Incoming Cllr Tom Holway, who was elected as Ward Councillor for Ermington & Ugborough in May 2015, said: "It is an honour to be elected as the Chairman of the Council and if I can carry out my duties as well as Cllr Cuthbert I will be happy.  I would like to think we can become a Dementia Friendly Council in the coming year and my chosen charity is Erme Valley Riding for the Disabled Group - a local charity that I have supported for many years."

Cllr Holway previously served as the Erme Valley Ward Councillor from May 2011 to May 2015 and was also an Ugborough Parish Councillor for twenty years, during 11 of which he was also their Chairman.

Cllr Holway was brought up in Mid Devon and, after leaving school, he left Devon for twenty years before returning to the South Hams. Having started out in electrical engineering, he later moved into Management Accountancy and is a fellow of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants,  Cllr Holway has worked at all levels in a variety of public and private sector organisations.

Cllr Rosemary Rowe has also new been elected as Vice Chairman for the following year and a big thank you was given to Cllr Michael Hicks as the outgoing Vice Chairman.

A calendar for this years Council meetings can be found here.