The Executive is a group of Councillors at South Hams District Council, elected annually at Full Council.

Meetings of the Executive consist of six District Councillors who each have specific areas of responsibility, known as "portfolios."

The Leader of the Council is the Chairman of Executive and the Deputy Leader is the Vice-Chairman. These positions are elected for the four year term of the Council and are re-appointed after local Council elections. The other four members of the Executive are appointed annually by Full Council

Currently, the following Councillors make up the Executive:

The full list of functions and procedure rules can be found in part 3b of the Constitution Delegation Scheme (see Our Constitution), the main function of the Executive is to provide Leadership to the overall activities of the Council. It manages all of the Council's land and property, reviews fees and charges for Council services and has responsibility for the approval of delivery plans.

Meetings are held on a Thursday at 10.00 a.m. in the Repton Room at Follaton House, Totnes.

Click here to view minutes and agendas from the Executive.

Executive meetings are open to the public. If you would like to ask a question or speak at the meeting, please see this page for details about the procedure.

Executive Forward Plan

The Forward Plan provides indicative dates for matters to be considered by the Executive. To read more about the Forward Plan, please see here.